Wood Type Advertisement Poster Design

woodtype

This wood type advertisement design is a piece that I created as a part of my Historical Poster Series in my Graphic Design course at UNO. For this assignment, I chose an advertisement for an HP printer, mostly for the irony of the contrasting production style of the traditional wood and ink block style to the modern printing style using digital printers.

For this design, my goal was to make a historically inspired advertisement for a modern product. I took inspiration from the thick slab serif fonts, ornate flourishes and fear of white space seen in the wood type poster era. Overall I really like my finished design and think that is accomplished the task well. Each flourish and leaf design I used, I personally created in Adobe Illustrator and placed them into the design so it adds a little bit more of a personal touch to my design.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

