DESIGN SAMPLE: “CALIFORNIA POPPY” BAND ALBUM COVER

ALBUM COVER.JPG

This album cover design is a piece that I created as a part of my Graphic Design Foundations course at UNO. For this assignment, we got to create our own original band name and make a self-titled album design for that band.

For this design, my goal was to integrate a feminine style into a grunge-esque aesthetic that appeals to a larger audience and resemble a more alternative band’s music. In the band’s title typeface, I chose a script style that was girly but that also resembles elements of a neon sign.

 

For the flower design, I used an image of traditional floral wallpaper, edited its coloring, value, contrast and shadowing as well as creating a bright white outline to make it resemble a neon sign and really mesh the two styles together. I chose the dark color scheme to make the flower design and name the visual focal points.

Overall I feel that this is a really successful piece that accomplishing the mixing of styles in a harmonious visual way. I had a lot of fun creating this project and hope to do more like it in the future.

Leave a Reply

