INFOGRAPHIC DESIGN SAMPLE: ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE FACT & FIGURES

infographic-alzheimers-disease
Alzheimer’s Infographic

This is an infographic of facts and figures about Alzheimer’s Disease that I designed as a part of my Public Relations and Advertising Design class at UNO. For this assignment, we were asked to create a statistically based infographic to communicate information in a visually appealing way.

I chose to focus on Alzheimer’s Disease because I personally volunteer and fundraiser for the Alzheimer’s Association as a part of my sorority, Sigma Kappa. After losing my grandfather, although he only had dementia as opposed to full-blown Alzheimer’s, I saw the effects first-hand and saw the pain he felt losing so much of himself because of the disease. This disease and this philanthropy mean a lot to me.

For this design, my goal was to motivate adults to get involved in in the fight against Alzheimer’s. I did not include the Alzheimer’s Association logo because that would’ve violated my assignments description, however, it would be very important to include in the circumstance that this was a sponsored infographic to solicit donations.

I chose the rich purple to reflect the official color of the Alzheimer’s Association and the ribbon for Alzheimer’s awareness. I used a bold sans serif font and created a visual hierarchy with the pops of white on black type. The circles in the design allow the information to be chunked in a visually attractive way that doesn’t overwhelm the reader.

Overall I feel this design was successful. It was used on my sorority’s social media page to promote the upcoming 2016 Walk to End  Alzheimer’s.

Leave a Reply

